What is your name and age?
Elin Andersson, 33 years old. Soon 34.

What are you working with/as?
I work in a big grocery store in Piteå.

Do you have a motto or any catchwords?
I have one special motto that I always use, both in training and in my life in general. That is “I choose strength”, I even got it tattooed on my arm.


When did you start kettlebell training? Why and how did you start?
I started kettlebell training in January 2015. They had a free training session at True Grit where you got the chance to try kettlebell training. I forced my husband to come with me and try it out, little did I know that I was going to get stuck. About the same time Fredrik and Maria started a 6 month challenge that I decided to take part in.

In the beginning I only did kettlebell fitness, but after a while I got tempted by Fredrik and Maria to start GS training instead. In April or May 2015 I started doing it full time.

Maybe more interesting, why did you continue doing it?
I love training hard, and always have done. I have tried a lot during my life, such as soccer, floorball, ordinary gym work out and a lot more… but I have never really got stuck with anything. Doing what I do now actually at last feels like I founded my place to be. I feel like being at home. Kettlebell is challenging, tough, hard work and absolutely wonderful.

Have you entered any competitions? Do you want to share your results?
I have. My results are:

  • Cup of Scandinavia 2015, TALC 2x16kg, 64 reps. (That was actually the first time I did 10 minutes with 16kg.)
  • Swedish Nationals 2015 2:nd place (and a silver medal), TALC 2x16kg, 73 reps.

Do you have a coach? Who is it and which are his/her strengths?
Yes I do. Fredrik Berglund, Mr True grit himself, is my coach. He’s got a lot of knowledge about the sport, and a huge interest in it as well. He is straight forward and honest which is exactly what I need. It’s like he can feel the days when I need a bit more coaching, as well as the days when I need to be by myself more. He puts in a lot of effort and engagement in his athletes and spend a lot of his time and energy coaching us.


As a coach, what do you think is important to be like in order to get the best results from athletes?
Except the fact that you have to be technically good, and be able to make good training sessions that fit the athlete, I think that you also have to be able to push your athlete in a good way for him/her to get results.

What do you think are the most important personal qualities in an athlete?
Will and a strong mind.

What are your own strengths as a lifter?
I am actually pretty strong. And I do have great will, and a great bloody strong mind.


What do you feel about single/double bells for women? What do you prefer?
Definitely double!! In OALC I feel that the body gets side loaded, which isn’t good. Men are doing double and I have a hard time understanding why women can’t do it too in all the competitions.

How do you think the future will look like for the sport (GS)? How do you think it will be like for you?
I think, and hope, that the sport will continue on growing. I hope that we can get a federation here in Sweden and internationally I hope that TALC will become an acknowledged discipline for women. For me, I hope that I can keep doing this many more years!

What/which are your personal goals in training? (long-term/short-term?)
My goal is to compete in TALC 24kg during next year.


Which discipline do you like the most and why is that?
Definitely TALC. It’s challenging and hard work.

What do you think is the most challenging in training?
Regarding kettlebell – glove snatch, for sure. That is so tough!

Do you have any training tips to share?
Remember to have fun! Surround yourself with people that push you and gives you energy – training will be so much easier when you have that.


Who (or what) inspires you?
My coach, Fredrik, is a great inspiration. As well as my training partners in True grit: Maria, Petra, Annika, Carola, Jan, Jonna and Nina. Then, of course, all the super strong women around the world doing TALC with 24kg are my idols.

Which exercise is your favourite? Heavy short intervals in TALC.

Have you got any exercises that you hate doing? Which one and why is that?
Snatch and glove snatch. I had a surgery in my right shoulder about 9 years ago and still haven’t got full mobility in it. That makes the drop in snatch hard to do and it’s even painful doing snatch. That is why I don’t like it.

Is there ever anything that makes you not prioritise training day?
Work or sickness. There isn’t a lot else that can keep me from training.

How do you eat? Do you have a special diet or a food-philosophy?
I try to eat as clean food as possible, a bit paleo – without grains and dairy products.

What is your favourite thing to do when you’re not “kettlebelling”?
I spend time with my husband and our dogs, preferably on a long walk in the forest.


We would like to thank Elin for doing this. Elin is a super strong woman who inspires us all with her focus and ability to lift whatever comes her way. Adding the fact that she spreads energy to us all pushing and cheering. She sure has a great future infront of her and it is absolutely wonderful to get to follow her way. Make sure you don’t miss it.

Translate »