What is your name and age?
Jane-Christin Foss, 29 years old.

What are you working with/as?
I work as a sports teacher at Kirkeparken VGS. Beside that I am a co-owner at Optimal Prestasjon in Moss, where I also work as an instructor and coach for two kettlebell students.

Do you have a motto or any catchwords?
My power word is invictus. It’s about that you have control over your body and your soul. I use this for myself before each set when I exercise.

When did you start kettlebell training? Why and how did you start?
I was first introduced to kettlebell sport on a course I attended with Allan Fallrø in late 2013. But it was not until April 2014 that I started training towards competing within kettlebell sport.
Before this I had trained kettlebell at Elixia where I worked. I noticed quickly that I liked this form of exercise and it built up my body both physically and mentally in a way that made me stronger in life in general, and on the platform.

Maybe more interesting, why did you continue doing it?
Firstly, this form of training gives me much joy and sense of achievement and this is an important motivating factor for me in relation to continuing with kettlebell.
Meanwhile, I feel that this form of exercise also challenge me physically and mentally, and build up my body in a safe, good and healthy way.


Have you entered any competitions? Do you want to share your results?
Yes, I have participated in several competitions over the past year and a half.
My results are:

  • Scala Cup 2016 1st place, snatch 24kg, 117 reps (Norwegian record)
  • IUKL World Championship 2nd place, snatch 16 kg, 215 reps
  • Cup of Scandinavia 2015 3rd place, TALC 16 kg, 75 reps
  • Valhall open 2015 4th place, TALC 16 kg, 64 reps
  • Valhall open in 2015 4th place, snatch 16 kg, 203 reps
  • Scala cup 2015 1st place, snatch 20 kg, 142 reps
  • IKFF Open 2015 1st place, snatch 20 kg, 163 reps (CMS rank in Norway)
  • NM 2014 2nd place, snatch 16 kg, 152 reps

Do you have a coach? Who is it and which are his/her strengths?
I do have a coach. His name is Per Helge Fjørtoft and his strength is that he see every athlete as an individual human being, programming our training out of that. He also sees the whole person, not just the athlete.

What kind of education do you have in coaching?
I have a master’s degree in sports science and other courses in both kettlebell, yoga, spinning, fitness guidance and strength.


As a coach, what is important to be like in order to get the best results from your athletes?
For me it is important to see the whole athlete and identify what level, assumptions and goals this athlete has. And after this identify a training program that promotes this athletes health, both physical and mental, towards his or her goals. It is important for me as a coach to listen to my athletes and give them the support and challenges they need.

What is the most challenging thing being a coach?
The biggest challenge I encounter as a coach and teacher is to form a good picture of the whole athlete and make a good programming for that particular athlete.

What are your own strengths as a coach?
My biggest strength as a coach is that I am always 100% present in the things I do and really care about my athletes and what needs they have. Meanwhile, I have a broad professional education within the subject I teach and I am an active performer which enables me to understand the various issues and challenges my athletes and students may be faced with in their everyday training.


What do you think are the most important personal qualities in an athlete?
The desire to develop step by step every day, and have the patience to take the gradual steps that are required to develop in a proper pace that promotes your physical and mental health. Each day teach you something valuable.

How do you think the future will look like for the sport (GS)? How do you think it will be for you or your athletes?
I feel that it is difficult to predict the development of kettlebell for it is so hard to tell which direction it will go when there are as many opinions as branches and classes within kettlebell. But what I can say for sure is that we face interesting times ahead of us, and I want to be a part of it and develop my skills as a performer in progress with this development.


What/which are your personal goals in training? (long-term/short-term?)
For this season my goal is to work on developing my snatch technique with 24 kg, and qualify for the European Championships in Poland in May. In EM, I wish for the first time to qualify to participate in the pro class for women -68 kg.

Which discipline do you like the most and why is that?
I like snatch best. Here it’s all about get into a good rhythm with the bell and go into myself and become one with the bell. And work with its gravity and make its weight be my strength.

Do you have any training tips to share?
My best training tip is to find a form of exercise that gives you pleasure and mastery to continue to train on. When you find joy in what you do, it’s easier to get patience and motivation to continue over a longer period of time.
Also listen to others around you and believe that you can learn something new from everyone you meet.


Who (or what) inspires you?
Inger Ørmen Helgestad inspires me. She never gives up even if she faces uphill and challenges on the road, but she continues to work all the way no matter what.

Per Helge Fjørtoft inspires me because he sees you as an athlete at an incredibly good way and provides an academically good programming and good feedback.

Dmitry Gordejev inspires me because he works hard for what he believes in.

Which exercise is your favourite?
The exercise I like best is the squat.

Have you got any exercises that you hate doing? Which one and why is that?
The exercise I feel I hate to do is glove snatch. Although I feel it gives me a lot this is an exercise I do not like to do.

Is there ever anything that makes you not prioritise training day?
For me exercise is a top priority, and this is very important for me.
But my family, my boyfriend and my friends are also very important to me. So if they need me I always help them at first, but try to adapt my day so I get time for some exercise anyway.

How do you eat? Do you have a special diet or a food-philosophy?
For me food is culture and to feel the joy of eating good and healthy food. But also think about how the diet may help to improve my performance. I have no special diet I follow, I try to eat a varied and healthy diet where I think everything in moderation.

What is your favourite thing to do when you’re not ”kettlebelling” or coaching?
I love the outdoors and experiencing nature with the people who mean a lot to me. Being in nature gives me an opportunity to disengage and just be, without feeling that I have to do anything.

We would like to thank Jane-Christin for wanting to share her thoughts with us. Jane-Christin has made an impressive journey and it is really inspiring to read what she has to say. I am sure we will see alot more of this woman, make sure you follow her way to her goals.

Translate »